recommended campsites in the lake district
Follow us on TwitterView our latest newsletter

Request a brochure:

* = required fields








We accept payment from these major credit / debit cards:

visa
electron
mestro
solo
american
american
All of our payments are managed by Cardsave secure payments.
cardsave

Happy People

Below are articles and comments given by people who have stayed in a 4 Winds Lakeland Tipi of hired one for an event. If you would like to add a comment of your own please contact us (See: Contact page).

Family stay in a Wigwam in the English Lake District View blog: http://tomorrowzworld.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/wigwam-bam/


“Many thanks, we had a lovely stay and will definitely be returning in the future.”
Andrew, Low Wray, 2013
“Fantastic and relaxing trip getting back to nature.”
Andrew Amos, Low Wray, October 2013
“We had a lovely stay and will certainly recommend your tipis to friends.”
Vicky, Low Wray, 2013
“We absolutely loved our stay. Will hope to be back soon. Thank you so much once again.”
Kimberley, Low Wray, October 2013
“We had a great time, such a great spot and a wonderful adventure for our kids in the tipi.”
Glenn, Low Wray, Aug 2013
“We loved it, we have a little 5 year old American Indian now who prefers no shoes, no hairbrush and a ride in a wheelbarrow after dark!! A great weekend, and I will definitely recommend it. Thank you.”
The Hill Family, Low Wray, Aug 2013
“We had a really good holiday, thank you - our son, Alex, is really interested in Native American history, and we kept the tipi a surprise from him and his younger brother. I can't tell you how pleased they were when they saw the tipis and then found out we were booked to stay in River Lodge! The camp site is beautiful and there's so much to see and do in the area that we can't wait to return. Thank you again to you and Lee for such a lovely stay.”
Lorna, Low Wray 2013
“We had a fantastic time thank you. Definitely returning next year.”
Lisa, Low Wray, 2013
“We had a lovely few days and the weather was very kind. I am sure we will be back for more next year.”
Catherine, Low Wray, Aug 2013
“We loved it thanks. Very nice experience.”
Adrian, Hoathwaite August 2013
“Thank you. We had a fabulous time and loved the tipi. The campsite was perfect, very relaxing and even although it was full it was not noisy. We hope to return soon! Best wishes.”
Julie, Gordon & Sarah Faulkner, Low Wray August 2013
“I hope that you will be pleased to hear that we had a very enjoyable stay in the tipi and are looking forward to a repeat visit some time soon. The whole experience was very enjoyable and the kids loved it. Thanks again.”
Craig, Low Wray, 2013
“We had an amazing tipi stay – have recommended you to lots of people. Also Karola was brilliant and Casper enjoyed his stay with all the other dogs at the farm. Thanks again.”
Beth, Low Wray, 2013
“Thank you so much for a fantastic holiday staying in one of your Tipi's (Crowfoot). We had an amazing time and will definitely recommend you to our friends.”
Low Wray, 2013
“What a lovely site Hoathwaite is the views are spectacular and the walk to the Wilsons Arms is well worth it! We will be back.”
Dave and family, Hoathwaite, 2013
“Thank you very much. We had a great time, weather was really good so we got to make the most of everything.”
Sarah, Low Wray, June 2013
“I had the pleasure of spending the weekend at your one of your Low Wray campsite tipis. The weather was amazing but the Tipi made it for my girlfriend for whom camping in one had been an ambition for some time.”
William, Low Wray, June 2013
“We stayed in your tipis last weekend and had an awesome time. Thankyou.”
Ciara and friends, Hoathwaite, June 2013
“Cracking weekend, thankyou I will be bringing my Mrs to the tipis before the end of the summer.”
Chris, Hoathwaite, June 2013
“We had a really great time!  The tipi was fantastic.”
Claire, Low Wray, June 2013
“We had a fantastic time, lovely campsite and Tipi. Thanks for your help.”
Wisha, Low Wray, June 2013
“It was wonderful... :) Thank you.”
Jayne, Low Wray, June 2013
“Thank you. Fabulous time. Keen to do it again some time. Cheers.”
Reviewed by Brenda Mc, May 2013
“Thankyou so much. We had a wonderful time again, which was helped by the fantastic weather. The setting was more even more beautiful than we remembered! We're looking at dates again already for next year. Best wishes.”
Reviewed by Liz and Craig, May 2013
“We had a wonderful time.Thank you very much we will definitely return.”
Reviewed by Michelle, May 2013
“We really enjoyed our stay! Curly Bear was the perfect base for our holiday full of scrambling, hillwalking and picking frogs up from the road so we didn't run them over in the car!). I think the thing that made it for me was that it still felt like camping - a bit of fun and  a bit more adventurous than a B&B, but there was a heater, cooking didn't involve sitting outside a tiny tent and there was enough space to keep wet kit away from dry stuff and to stand up to get dressed (luxury if you're used to a backpacking tent!)

I had forgotten how nice it is not to have the TV and the laptop vying for attention, and just to sit in the countryside with a beer or a tea and chat.”
Catherine and Jim, April 2013
“It was awesome definitely surpassed expectation and will be promoting to friends. Perfect.”
Reviewed by Richard, October 2012
“I just wanted to say how pleasurable our stay was at your camp and Tipi! We loved the tipi and the scenery it was just stunning obviously it helped that we had amazing weather also! We will definitely be back at some point in the New Year! Was so sad to leave it just wasn't long enough lol. Shame we couldn't meet you to express this in person.”
Reviewed by Roxy & Dan, October 2012
“The tipis are great and we were so pleased the weather was good! Hope to be back soon.”
Reviewed by Ciara, October 2012
“Just to say, we had a wonderful stay in 'curly bear - tipi' my two lads had an absolute ball, we left on Thursday evening due to work commitments, but will be back again! Thanks for your excellent organisation - you really have got everything covered down to the last detail.”
Reviewed by Neil Morgan, October 2012
“Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Low Wray last weekend - the tipi was amazing and the kids absolutely loved it! It was great to have a real fire going in the evening and introduce the children to the delights of toasting marshmallows! The site facilities were fantastic - the best we've ever experienced - a brilliant, family-friendly holiday.  Many thanks for a fun-filled weekend.”
Reviewed by Kate & James, August 2012
“Many thanks, we had a great time and the grand children loved it too.”
Reviewed byPaul & Elaine, August 2012
“We certainly enjoyed our stay, and will at some point in the future look to make a return visit.”
Best wishes, Blair, August 2012
“We'd just like to thank you for the weekend we've just had at Low Wray. The surprisingly good weather certainly helped but it was definitely the Tipi and equipment that made it. Thanks again for meeting us and everything.”
Reviewed by Ben  Crowfoot 6-9 July 2012
“Thank you for a fabulous stay at the tipi. We had a fantastic time and will certainly be advertising your charming holiday venue to friends and family alike. It was a memorable holiday... A camping first for my children and what better way to introduce them. We will certainly be booking in for our next camping holiday to make the most of your beautiful surroundings and great facilities! Superb. Kind regards and wishing you a successful summer season. We ended up being lucky with the weather. A few showers and some glorious sunshine. (not what the forecast had predicted much to our delight!). It was lovely to meet you too”
Reviewed by Louise and family, July 2012
“Our trip was great and I'm sure we'll be back”
Many Thanks Clare, July 2012
“I have just had the most fantastic break at 4 Winds Tipi with my kids. Their first adventure into camping and what could have been more fitting than this! They had an absolute ball in perfect environment and fabulous setting... I would recommend 4winds to anyone wishing to have a back to nature holiday in the lake District ( especially if a novice like myself).. It is a gem! Will be booking up for years to come”
Reviewed by Louise, July 2012
“I'd like to say on behalf of our group that stayed from the 8th-10th in the tipis had an amazing weekend, the facilities are above and beyond what we'd expected and the general atmosphere on the campsite was lovely!”
Reviewed by Rebecca Hancock, June 2012
“We had a great time, despite the weather, and were very impressed how effective the tipi was in those conditions.”
Reviewed by Martin, June 2012
“Thanks for another fab week, we will be back again next year.”
Reviewed by Rachel and John, June 2012
“We had a fantastic time and the site was lovely and well kept. The kids thought it was ace we loved the Tipis too and will be recommending stays to our friends and family.”
Reviewed by the Orrell family, June 2012
“We had a great time and the kids loved it. We will definitely be returning in the future. The site is really beautiful and the tipis are fab. We had a fabulous holiday. I would highly recommend your tipis and the site to everyone I know, our kids have said it was the best holiday they have ever had!”
Reviewed by Sophie, June 2012
“We had a fantastic time, weather held off so we could get a good walk in. The kids thought the tipi's where brilliant, so much so they didn't get to sleep till midnight and were up then at 6am. We are still recovering! Thanks you once again, and we will look at returning to Low Wray.”
Reviewed by Mike Martin, June 2012
“We enjoyed the location and the quality of the tipi.”
Reviewed by Mr Meere, June 2012
“We had an excellent time staying in the tipi.”
Best regards Jay and Family, June 2012
“Now it's our turn to thank you for a fantastic stay at the tipis! We've not stopped telling people what a great time we had! Our 3 boys loved the tipis and are asking when can we go again!! Once again, big thank you for our excellent tipi holiday!”
All the best Tribe Denton! May 2012
“ Great stay grandkids loved it and we will recommend to friends and family.”
Reviewed by Susan and family, May 2012
“Thanks very much. We had a wonderful time and will recommend you to friends! ”
Reviewed by Gill, May 2012.
“Thanks for a fab dew days away, was just what we needed to recharge the batteries! Thanks again.”
Reviewed by Melissa - October, 2011.
“I will definitely be back next year, probably with friends though as I loved it!”
Reviewed by Oliver - October, 2011.
“My boyfriend and I stayed with you this weekend in your 12ft tipi. I just wanted to say we had a wonderful time in the tipi and was really quite amazing with everything we needed to be comfy and cosy! Well worth the money and we will definitely be back! Thanks again.”
Reviewed by Faye and Stacey - September, 2011.
“We returned home last night from a great weekend staying in Willow Lodge Many thanks and kind regards. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it.”
Reviewed by Ruth - September, 2011.
“May I just say that we had an absolutely wonderful time and will heartily recommend you to everyone! Thanks again.”
Reviewed by Cassy and Jon - September, 2011.
“Thank u very much. We had a lovely time, will recommend it to all our friends, fabulous site, so beautiful. Even the rain didn't spoil the weekend!”
Reviewed by The Owens Sept - September, 2011.
“Thank you for a lovely weekend in the tipi. We did decide to leave aday earlier due to the bad weather and ensured that everything was clean and tidy before our departure. Thanks again and kind regards”
Reviewed by Ruth - September, 2011.
“Thank you for the quick refund, we had a fab time thank you (despite the rain!) and hope to come back next year. The tipi's are great!”
Reviewed by Jenny - September, 2011.
“Everybody really had a lovely time especially the kids...they can’t wait for the next camping adventure.Thank you very much.”
Reviewed by Geoff - August, 2011.
“Thankyou and yes we had a really lovely time staying in your tipi - site and location was lovely. Will come again definitely xx”
Reviewed by Unknown - August, 2011.
“Fabulous thanks very much. ”
Reviewed by Andrea and family - August, 2011.
“Thank you so much for such a lovely holiday place to stay. We have had a great time and will be recommending your tipis to our friends”
Reviewed by The Davies Family - August, 2011.
“We had a great time - very relaxing - despite the patchy weather! We hope to return at some point in the future. The kids loved it.”
Reviewed by Sharron and Steve - August, 2011.
“Thankyou for a lovely stay in Hanging Flower. The tipi was excellent and had everything we needed, thanks for a great holiday.”
Reviewed by Alexa, Michael and Brandon - August, 2011.
“thanks for a great weekend! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the tipi.”
Reviewed by Regards, Marissa and co - August, 2011.
“had a fabulous time at the tipi, we stayed in the Rising Sun. and also are you on trip advisor, would like to leave a report.”
Reviewed by Francesca - August, 2011.
  “We have just returned home from our tipi holiday and we had a great time. We would like to compliment you on the tipi's as they are clean, comfortable and just as described. The staff on the park were very friendly and very helpful, so thanks to you all.”
Reviewed by Nathan - July, 2011.
“Just emailing to say that my partner and I had a fabulous time in the Shaman Tipi last weekend and were sad to leave this morning! Thanks for everything.”
Reviewed by Lana - July, 2011.
“Thank you very much for a super great weekend- It was lovely to meet you and it really is a great campsite and we loved every minute. Your tipis are everything we imagined and more. Thank you so much.”
Reviewed by Sophie - July, 2011.
“We had a wonderful time in the tipi, and I have recommended you to the friends. We will stay again possibly in your other locations next year.”
Reviewed by Weiping - July, 2011.
“We had such a great time. Our son he loved it and it was very relaxing 4 us. Thanks.”
Reviewed by Josianne - July, 2011.
“Just wanted to say it was a fab weekend and the kids loved it. No doubt we will be back. Thank you for your hospitality”
Reviewed by Richard and Paul and families - July, 2011.
“Tipi was wonderful and the kids loved it. Will see about another visit later this year before Summer goes entirely”
Reviewed by Mark - July, 2011.
“Many thanks had a great time - such an amazing place!”
Reviewed by Adam - June, 2011.
“Thank you, we had a great time and have been recommending you to all our friends, we will be back”
Reviewed by Tracy - June, 2011.
“It was amazing! I think it's pretty safe to say that we'll be coming back in the future. We climbed Scafell Pike last week, I think Helvellyn will be next! Thank you so much, it was beautiful”
Reviewed by Hannah - May, 2011.
“Many thanks Lee, We all had a great time again and I'm sure we'll be back before the summer is over”
Reviewed by Paul - April, 2011.
“Hi Suzanne & Lee, Thank you, we had a great time with some nice weather thrown in too. It's a lovely site and Ollie would like to try a yurt next time!”
Reviewed by Simon and Family - April, 2011.
“Many thanks. We had a great weekend, even if the nights were somewhat chilly! The tipi was excellent and we're already recommending to our friends”
Reviewed by Martin and Family - April, 2011.
“We definitely enjoyed our stay. We took lots of photographs in and around the campsite so once we have sorted them out we will email you some if you like to go on your website”
Reviewed by Lauren - April, 2011.
“We had a fabulous time thanks, the location was great and the scenery stunning, I'm so glad I made the decision to stay in your Tipi. It was a great experience for me and my son and we have some truly great memories and photographs”

Reviewed by Andy & William Bunce from Bristol - August, 2010.
“Many thanks for a fabulous holiday. The site is perfect for small children”
Reviewed by Sandy - August, 2010.
“Tipi was brilliant ... Kids had a blast and I got the occasional break while they played ball with the other kids... Perfect! And it was nice to meet you as well. All the best for the rest of this camping season and beyond”
Reviewed by Laurie - August, 2010.
“Tipi was great my boys loved it, it was also very waterproof which was good the last 12 hours in it, it never stopped raining!!! but we had a great week plus we went mountain boarding which was also brill and great value for money”
Reviewed by Rebecca - August, 2010.
“We wanted to let you both know how wonderful our tipi experience was. The American family we came with have children the same age as ours and we were all thrilled with the tipis, the site and your wonderful service. It was very good of you to sort our beds and help make our stay more comfortable. We will be tipi converts now and have already recommended your site to all our friends, again many thanks it was so much fun”
Reviewed by Claire and Lee Watson - August, 2010.
“Thanks for a fantastic weekend the kids really loved everything about the place. Many thanks”
Reviewed by Steve, Kellie Joseph & Scarlet - August, 2010.
“Just to say what a lovely time we had at the tipi last week and will be looking to return with friends/family in the future. We had a great time and will be recommending 4Winds to our friends”
Reviewed by Amy, James, Laura, Toni - August, 2010.
“We had an absolutely fantastic holiday, we can honestly say it was the best holiday we have ever had even if it was pouring with rain when we first arrived. Tipi was amazing and had everything we needed and the setting is breath taking! Thank you we will definitely be returning in future years. Have some great memories of my three year olds face when he first saw the tipi”
Reviewed by Liz, Kieran and Thomas - July, 2010.
“The Tipi's were amazing, I'll certainly be back”
Reviewed by Louise - July, 2010.
“ Thanks. We had a fab time and the tipis were brilliant. We will be recommending this to all we know. In fact, our daughter is crying as she wanted to stay longer!”
Reviewed by Claudia Rogers, 2010.
“ hi just to say we had a wonderful holiday, the tipi was first class, we do a lot of camping and this was the first time we stayed in a tipi it was like a luxury tent. the position of the tipi village was in a perfect location the scenery was amazing despite some rain on the Tuesday we still went out and was glad to get back in the tipi. if it had of rained all week we still wouldn't have minded staying in the tipi all week along with the added bonus of a portable heater was really nice especially on Friday morning. we have recommended you to our friends and family and are looking forward to coming back next year. Thanks for a great experience”
Reviewed by The Highams from Warwickshire, 2010.
“ Thank you. We had a fantastic time in the tipi. Even though we only live a few miles away we felt that we had really gone on 'holiday'. The tipi's are fantastic. We hope to book again for next year”
Reviewed by Julie from Kendal - July, 2010.
“ Thank you Suzanne and lee. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back this year if poss. Enjoy your summer as well”
Reviewed by Anne Walker - July, 2010.
“ Lee, Suzanne thank you both for the best weekend break my friends and I have had together. We wanted a weekend together that was peaceful, relaxing yet different, and wow was it different, the tipi's are fantastic, clean with everything you need!! We never went more than 5 yards from our tipi all weekend, just enjoyed the barbecue and beer, laughing out loud with friends. Many friends and family have awaited our return to tell about the fun we have had in the tipi and many of them wish to experience it for themselves. We took lots of postcards from the reception and have given several out already. So a huge thank you for an amazingly different experience making our weekend just fantastic. Hope to stay with you again soon, Kind regards”
Reviewed by Liz - July, 2010.
“I would just like to say thank you and what a great time we had last weekend in the just camping tipi. Its nice to be welcomed into the camping grounds by such friendly and helpful staff members. The facilities were also excellent. The toilets and showers were always clean. A big thank you, to you and your staff members. As I said to you, I had my wife’s parents from South Africa with us and they were well impressed with the camping grounds. I will definitely be coming back for another weekend before winter this year”
Reviewed by Dave - July, 2010.
“Hi, just to say we had the best holiday ever and want to come back ASAP. The tipi was fab, we usually have to lug a lot of gear around on our Harleys and camp in our own tent but to have carpet and a gas fire and candlelight made our stay very comfortable and so chilled out. Never been to the lakes before but just totally fell in love with the place...thank you so much”
Reviewed by Samantha from York - 2010.
“ Thankyou your tipis are beautiful, we had a great time and will hopefully be back next year”
Reviewed by Gemma and Chris - 2010.
“Just a note to say we have had a brilliant holiday in your tipi this week. we did all the things we wanted to do.the scenery was outstanding, and the weather, well what can we say? wall to wall sunshine! unbelievable! It will be a holiday we wont forget.Thanks very much”
Reviewed by Ali Bailey, Jim Parkman and boys - 2010.
“Thank you for an amazing tipi experience. We will definitely be booking to come again”
Reviewed by Emma and Chris Catterall, Manchester - 2009.
“Just a quick note to say thanks very much for a fantastic weekend. The setting was beautiful and the tipi was amazing. We all had a great time. The kids now want to live in a tipi”
Reviewed by Rob, Kate, Amelia and Isabel Boon - 2009.
“Just to say thanks for everything, it was a really good experience and we would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience camping in a different way. We really enjoyed the tipi and the directions were easy to follow. The tipi made camping so much more enjoyable and fun, no matter what the weather was like”
Reviewed by Vivi & Joe, Liverpool - 2009.
“Just wanted to say thank you for a really special weekend, the whole experience was absolutely wonderful! Colin (my partner) is a bit of a city boy so I wasn't sure how he would take the outdoor living, however he had a really chilled weekend – and so did I. The tipi was lovely, the scenery was amazing and the atmosphere in the camp was really relaxed, a much welcome break from civilisation as we know it! It was a totally different experience to anything I have done before and we will certainly be booking again next year. Loved the shower by the wa :)”
Reviewed by Jennie - 2008.
“Just a note to thank you both for the tipi. We had a wonderful time..the boys absolutely loved every moment despite the diabolical weather and it was a great experience....i could have done without the slug in my hair tho!!............ talk about back to nature... so we have lots of happy memories and things to laugh about”
Reviewed by Selina John and Peter Daly - 2008.
“Many, many thanks for a wonderful holiday in one of your lovely 18ft tipis. Even the rain did not spoil our fun. Stepping out of our tipi early morning with the mist rolling off Lake Windermere below, switching on the piping hot shower and standing in a cedar- scented steam, enjoying the woodland view - pure bliss. We have stayed in a lot of luxury hotels over the years and none of them come close to matching your shower facilities. We will definitely be back”
Reviewed by The Troup Family - 2008.
“I had a lovely time thanks, really relaxing and so much fun at the same time! Thank you both for your hospitality, we all had a fantastic and comfortable stay. I liked it so much I'd like to come again, maybe with my future husband! Take care and thanks again”
Reviewed by Unnamed - 2008.
“I was in the party of 7 'hens' that stayed in one of your 18ft tipi's at the weekend :) I'd just like to say a big thank you for your hospitality and helpfulness! We had a great time and hope to be able to come back again some time”
Reviewed by Pamela Copeland - 2008.
“Just a short note to say how much we enjoyed our week in our tipi, have never returned from a break so relaxed and refreshed. We were delighted with everything, not even the rain spoilt our fun. The kids also had a ball. Many thanks we look forward to returning soon”
Reviewed by Lou , Mark , Maddy and Maisie - 2008.
“The Hiawatha Experience, Peace and simplicity of life in a tipi. As soon as you enter a tipi things seem slower and more relaxed. You do feel much closer to nature”
Reviewed by Christain Dymond Cumbria Life Magazine.
“This is now our third holiday with 4 Winds Lakeland Tipis we just love coming!”
Reviewed by The Templar family from Oxford.
“The site is amazing”
Reviewed by The Bell family from Essex.
“The girls love dressing up as Red Indians”
Reviewed by The Lyndsey family.
"We will definitely come again”
Reviewed by Father and sons from Lancashire.
“This holiday has changed our lives its made us think more about how we live at home”
Reviewed by The Smith family from Manchester.
“I wish we could live like this all the time”
Reviewed by A small child from London.
“What a great time we had the boys absolutely loved it especially at night when it goes dark and you light the candles and put the lantern on”
Reviewed by John Mc Ardle actor who stayed for a weekend with his son and a friend.
“We had a lovely week, the tipis were great, the site beautiful and the kids had hours of fun in the river. Wishing you every success with your venture”
Reviewed by The Braithwaites from Kendal.
“We had a good time from the sun coming up to going back down. A wonderful experience”
Reviewed by Thank you from the Pendle Tribe.
“Fantastic experience definitely coming back in the summer.  Thanks”
Reviewed by Wendy, Allison, Pauline, Sue and Julie.
“4 Winds Lakeland Tipis provided a great venue for our Drum Kitchen at the BBC Spring Watch event in Angel Fields in Manchester”
Reviewed by Mimi Rogers director of Another Really Useful Idea events.
“My daughter had a really special birthday in Shaman tipi erected in our back garden by 4 Winds Lakeland Tipis”
Reviewed by Mrs. Stone from Lancashire.
“We would just like to thank you for the wonderful say. The Tipis were more impressive than I thought. We had all we needed during our stay, all we did was arrive and relax. The area was so peaceful and it was such a treat to just watch the stars over a roaring campfire. We chatted into the night, it was a laugh a minute, and we really appreciated the communal living aspect, it made the experience even more intimate and cozy. The air beds were a nice touch for the effortless nights sleep and the convenience of the fire wood sore next door who were very accomodating when the fire wood got low. You can definitely put us down for the same time next year”
Reviewed by Antony, Mel and Katie from Carlisle.
In The Big Country - Article
“It was time to play cowboys and Indians again, but this time far more for real, writes Jonathan Skinner.

Perhaps it's being forty something or other' that makes me want to relive the dreams of my youth, but when I saw the advert for a holiday that meant I could stay in a proper tipis in the Lake District, I was enchanted.

Nostalgia, romance (and if I am brutally honest, the image of myself as a great warrior chief for a weekend) had me hooked.

Having crammed four children and a bemused and mildly insane Cocker Spaniel into the car with all the clobber needed for a few days away, we were ready to make as early start as possible in order to begin our adventure in Cumbria by lunchtime.

However, the adventure started earlier that I expected we had forgotten about the perils of the M6.

I reasoned that if I headed out far enough towards Wales, in the end I would find some clear roads. I was wrong. We spent hours meandering near the Celtic borderlands. At last, feeling shattered, we gave up and called into a country pub for a meal while we waited for all the traffic to die down.
Well into the evening we set off again and finally reached our Indian village at about midnight.
There is something about the Lake District that reminds me of the children's rhyme, When he's good he's very, very good, but when he's bad he's horrid.' On a fine day there is absolutely nothing better that the Lakes, but in the rain there is little worse. And on this night it was not just raining, it was a veritable monsoon.

We ran, slipped and staggered through pitch blackness and pounded by torrential rain ran into our shelter, a tipis.

Inside, we began to sort ourselves out. The tent was surprisingly large and well equipped with cooker, lamps and so on, and even rugs on the ground sheet which gave it an authentic feel. As quickly as we could we arranged our bedding on the air mats provided, comforted ourselves with mugs of steaming hot chocolate and then huddled into our sleeping bags and listened to the rain battering the canvas.

In the morning the weather was little better, and as we peeped out we could see that the Indian village' of five tipis was situated on the edge of a deep wooded valley on the fringe of a forest.
Fog and mist hung over the trees like a damp blanket. Putting on our most stoic attitude we set about preparing for a day out touring the area.

The nearest lake was Coniston Water, which I knew from previous experience is stunningly beautiful and the place where Arthur Ransome's famous tale Swallows and Amazons was set. We went out on the wonderful Victorian steam launch and visited the home of art critic John Ruskin, called Brantwood, on the shore of the lake.

For those interested in literature, there really is nothing quite comparable to the Lake District - generations of poets and writers have been inspired by the beauty and stunning grandeur of the place.

Sadly, our exploring was done in overcast and gloomy conditions, leaving us cold and damp, and discouraged to the core. Despite making the best of it, the weather was dampening our spirits.
But then on the last day it happened - the sun suddenly came out and shafts of light lit up the scenery.

The transformation was stunning and the effect staggering. Great expanses of the most extraordinary and amazing scenery suddenly became illuminated before us. And we remembered why people love the Lake District - in fine weather it is unparalleled.

We saw our campsite in a new light; living in a teepee buried deep in woodland and valley with wildlife all around could be the most refreshing and revitalising experience.

The only thing I would really want to learn before being an Indian again for a weekend is how to do a rain dance that guarantees fine weather. Now, where did I put my tomahawk?”


Reviewed by Jonathan Skinner reporter with the Oxford News.
Daily Express Article
In July 2005 Andrew Eames a reporter for the Daily Express Travel Section came to stay at a 4 Winds site with his children Thomas aged 12 and Rhena aged 10 both brought a friend along. Here’s what he had to say:

“Creature comforts have taken much of the grit out of sleeping under canvas.”

Reviewed by Andrew Eames.


“Camping isn’t what it used to be. In my teenage years I spent weeks lugging a tent around the Lake District, carefully rotating my socks, eating just-add-water curry and rice, and getting steadily more pungent as the days went by.

Now my own children are growing up I thought it was time for them to discover what real camping is all about. Time for them to venture a little into the savage side of life. Except this was Native American style in the heart of the English countryside.

We had rented Thundercloud, one of seven tipis in the Lake District’s first ever tribal encampment, 4 Winds Lakeland Tipis.

The tipis are large and eye-catching, and almost as well-equipped as a top-end mobile home with a cooker, barbecue, mattresses, lanterns and a tribal headdress or two to get you in the mood. My little savages were delighted with Thundercloud.

We decided on some hill-walking. We were rewarded with a perfect picnic spot on a grassy bank from where we could watch others coming up the path and take in the views. We could see Lake Windermere our tipi camp was below us and there in the middle was Thundercloud- the only thundercloud that we could see.”


Reviewed by Andrew Eames, reporter for the Daily Express Newspaper.


                                                                       American Indian Children

Camping reviews for the Lake District


- Camping in a Tipi - Wigwam Camping in the Lake District - Group camping in the Lake District - Campsite in the Lake District - Camping in Windermere - UK Campsites - luxury glamping in lake district - English Camping Locations - Child friendly campsites - Wigwam holidays - tipi holidays UK - cumbria camping guide - Cumbria camping locations - Ambleside campsites - Sleep in a Wigwam - recommended campsites in Cumbria - reviews of campsites uk -

4 Winds Tripadvisor Review

4 Winds Tipis tripadvisor reviews
reports from customers, trip advice for camping, trip advisor.

Recommended campsites Cumbria

recommended campsites in the lake district
Best places to camp, with good quality facilities, award winning.

5 star camping in the lake district

five 5 star camping in Cumbria
Top 10 best campsites, star rated camping locations Cumbria.

campsite reviews and recommendations

reviews of campsites
UK campsite reviews, cheap camping, with good facilities.

Cumbria camping guide information

cumbria camping guide to the lake district
local pubs, cheapest campsite, best walking tracks, excellent facilities, close to shops

Glamping luxury camping

luxury camping called glamping in the lake district
Glamping in the lake district, beautiful setting with home comforts, heating and cooking facilities.



















Campsite testimonials and reviews


- Holiday in the English Lake District - wales - scotland - england - camping articles - Camping at Bowness - Ireland - tipi lake district - quality sites -tipi camping - teepee holidays - wigwams lake district - go glamping in the lakes - 4 winds tipis reviews - Glamping - five 5 star camping resorts -