4 winds happy people testimonials Information about our tipis and the locations Picture of Low Wray tipi campsite Cumbria Picture of Hoathwaite tipi campsite Cumbria Booking a tipi holiday with 4 Winds Positive Tipi glamping testimonials 4 Winds Tipis eco policy information View our tipi accomodation page Actvities and things to do in The Lake District View of Low Wray tipi village The Lake District sunset across the water
We accept payment from these major credit / debit cards:
visa
electron
mestro
solo
american
american
All of our payments are managed by Cardsave secure payments.
cardsave

Email us to request a brochure:

4windstipis@googlemail.com

Old paper top

Happy People

Below are articles and comments given by people who have stayed in a 4 Winds Lakeland Tipi of hired one for an event. If you would like to add a comment of your own please contact contact us.

Family stay in a Wigwam in the English Lake District View blog: http://tomorrowzworld.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/wigwam-bam/




The whole family had a thoroughly good holiday, thank you

Nicola Hoathwaite, August 2015



We had a wonderful time, thankyou! It was the perfect way to spend my birthday and my last few days in England before spending a year in Canada.

Catherine, August 2015



Thank you very much. We loved the tipi. Hope to return next year

Caroline, August 2015



Thankyou. We had an amazing time, despite the rain! Thankyou so much, the Tipi's are fantastic, we'll be recommending them to all.

Iain, August 2015



We had a great time in the tipi, the weather Tues, Wed and Thurs really made it. Saw some absolutely amazing shooting stars Tues and Wed!!! The fires were great-toasting lots of marshmallows and brioche!

Jennifer and family, August 2015



Thank you very much. We had an absolutely fantastic time in Smoking Star. We will definitely be back again next year. Many thanks

Lisa, August 2015



I just wanted to say how much myself and two daughters enjoyed our stay this week in your Buffalo Lodge tipi. We had a fantastic time and are hoping to come back next year!

Penny, August 2015



We had a brilliant weekend. Thank you. It had all we could need. We found it very comfortable and will be booking again as soon as we can

Jane Wright, Low Wray, July 2015



We had the most amazing time, everything was perfect. We'll definitely be back again

Julia, Low Wray, July 2015



We had an amazing holiday and will be defo using your site again in the future and recommended you to a few mates with kids

Emma and family, Hoathwaite, August 2014



I just wanted to let you know what a fantastic time we had staying in your tipis this week - we were all exhausted returning home yesterday but what an adventure it was in such a beautiful place. The boys loved every second staying in them , were on the go all week and loved playing with all the other children who were there too. We definitely want to return next year and will recommend to all our friends!

Helen, Cath (Ewan and Archie), Low Wray, August 2014



Thank you, we all had a great time. Was a bit concerned when we arrived at the sign' this is a Quiet Site' as Reuben was two years old and had just found his voice! Anyway the campers were still talking to us and said they didn't hear him at all. Lovely spot, an oasis of calm and you made us very welcome

Sandra and Stephen, Eva and Nuria, Lucas and Reuben, Low Wray August 2014



We really enjoyed our stay in the Tipi and thought the camp site and facilities were excellent.We took advantage of having pizzas made in the pizza oven they were delicious!

Margarent Robin, Low Wray, August 2014



Absolutely amazing - the tipis were so well equipped and comfortable, the setting spectacular and the whole weekend a massive success with adults and children alike. Would definitely recommend the tipis to friends and hope to come back ourselves one day

Lucy, Low Wray 2014



Thankyou very much for a great weekend. We will be back next year

Deb, Hoathwaite, July 2014



We had a brilliant time. Kids loved it. We'll be back again. It was my second visit but first time with all the family

Clare, Low Wray 2014



Many thanks. We all really enjoyed our visit. A great spot & we had great weather. Would recommend it

David, Low Wray, July 2014



We had a fabulous time and thoroughly enjoyed being in the tipi

Ruth Harper, Low Wray, July 2014



We had a lovely time in the tipi! What a brilliant experience for our 5 year old boy. He made some friends too. The weather was terrific - we couldn't have hoped for better

Amanda, Low Wray, July 2014



It was fantastic thank you (tipi holiday). We had the best holiday ever!

Rachel Smith, Hoathwaite, July 2014



Thank you. We had a wonderful time

The Love Family, Low Wray, May 2014



It was great thanks, we will come again x

John Broad, Low Wray, May 2014



We did enjoy very much, it was one of best holidays we ever had and look forward to be able to go back again soon

Ek and Ching Kirdlap, Hoathwaite, May 2014



Thank you we had a lovely time

Louise Nuttall, Low Wray, May 2014



Hi thanks we had a lovely time would definitely book again

Anne Rodgers, Low Wray, May 2014



I just wanted to drop a quick line to say thank you... Firstly for allowing us to stay after I messed up the dates and secondly for the AMAZING break- we all loved it. I will be writing a very positive trip advisor review over the next week. Thanks so much

Sinead, Low Wray, May 2014



We had a fantastic time thank you :) our three boys loved their adventure!

Rachel, Low Wray, May 2014



Thank you. It really was amazing! Thanks again for the experience. We will definitely be back

Andrew, Low Wray, May 2014



Thank you for a great weekend

Amy, Low Wray, May 2014



Thank you, we had a lovely time in the curly bear tipi! We will never forget the experience.It was a fairly chilly start but the log burner helped warm our toes! What a great location with stunning views! Our little boy loved it and the shop was well stocked with helpful staff. We have left a positive review on Trip Advisor and hope to visit again soon

Paul and Family, Low Wray, Easter 2014



Thank you Suzanne we had a fabulous time. The tipi and camp are in an ideal location and we were blessed with great weather

Poole family, Low Wray, Easter 2014



We had an excellent time and would definitely come back

Ghilchrist Family, Low Wray Easter 2014



Had a great time! The girls loved it. Thank you

Becky, Helen, Esme and Maddy, Low Wray, Easter 2014



In The Big Country - Article




It was time to play cowboys and Indians again, but this time far more for real, writes Jonathan Skinner.

Perhaps it's being forty something or other' that makes me want to relive the dreams of my youth, but when I saw the advert for a holiday that meant I could stay in a proper tipis in the Lake District, I was enchanted.

Nostalgia, romance (and if I am brutally honest, the image of myself as a great warrior chief for a weekend) had me hooked.

Having crammed four children and a bemused and mildly insane Cocker Spaniel into the car with all the clobber needed for a few days away, we were ready to make as early start as possible in order to begin our adventure in Cumbria by lunchtime.

However, the adventure started earlier that I expected we had forgotten about the perils of the M6.

I reasoned that if I headed out far enough towards Wales, in the end I would find some clear roads. I was wrong. We spent hours meandering near the Celtic borderlands. At last, feeling shattered, we gave up and called into a country pub for a meal while we waited for all the traffic to die down.
Well into the evening we set off again and finally reached our Indian village at about midnight.
There is something about the Lake District that reminds me of the children's rhyme, When he's good he's very, very good, but when he's bad he's horrid.' On a fine day there is absolutely nothing better that the Lakes, but in the rain there is little worse. And on this night it was not just raining, it was a veritable monsoon.

We ran, slipped and staggered through pitch blackness and pounded by torrential rain ran into our shelter, a tipis.

Inside, we began to sort ourselves out. The tent was surprisingly large and well equipped with cooker, lamps and so on, and even rugs on the ground sheet which gave it an authentic feel. As quickly as we could we arranged our bedding on the air mats provided, comforted ourselves with mugs of steaming hot chocolate and then huddled into our sleeping bags and listened to the rain battering the canvas.

In the morning the weather was little better, and as we peeped out we could see that the Indian village' of five tipis was situated on the edge of a deep wooded valley on the fringe of a forest.
Fog and mist hung over the trees like a damp blanket. Putting on our most stoic attitude we set about preparing for a day out touring the area.

The nearest lake was Coniston Water, which I knew from previous experience is stunningly beautiful and the place where Arthur Ransome's famous tale Swallows and Amazons was set. We went out on the wonderful Victorian steam launch and visited the home of art critic John Ruskin, called Brantwood, on the shore of the lake.

For those interested in literature, there really is nothing quite comparable to the Lake District - generations of poets and writers have been inspired by the beauty and stunning grandeur of the place.

Sadly, our exploring was done in overcast and gloomy conditions, leaving us cold and damp, and discouraged to the core. Despite making the best of it, the weather was dampening our spirits.
But then on the last day it happened - the sun suddenly came out and shafts of light lit up the scenery.

The transformation was stunning and the effect staggering. Great expanses of the most extraordinary and amazing scenery suddenly became illuminated before us. And we remembered why people love the Lake District - in fine weather it is unparalleled.

We saw our campsite in a new light; living in a teepee buried deep in woodland and valley with wildlife all around could be the most refreshing and revitalising experience.

The only thing I would really want to learn before being an Indian again for a weekend is how to do a rain dance that guarantees fine weather. Now, where did I put my tomahawk?


Reviewed by Jonathan Skinner reporter with the Oxford News - 2008



Daily Express Article


In July 2005 Andrew Eames a reporter for the Daily Express Travel Section came to stay at a 4 Winds site with his children Thomas aged 12 and Rhena aged 10 both brought a friend along. Here’s what he had to say:




Creature comforts have taken much of the grit out of sleeping under canvas

Reviewed by Andrew Eames - 2005



Camping isn’t what it used to be. In my teenage years I spent weeks lugging a tent around the Lake District, carefully rotating my socks, eating just-add-water curry and rice, and getting steadily more pungent as the days went by.

Now my own children are growing up I thought it was time for them to discover what real camping is all about. Time for them to venture a little into the savage side of life. Except this was Native American style in the heart of the English countryside.

We had rented Thundercloud, one of seven tipis in the Lake District’s first ever tribal encampment, 4 Winds Lakeland Tipis.

The tipis are large and eye-catching, and almost as well-equipped as a top-end mobile home with a cooker, barbecue, mattresses, lanterns and a tribal headdress or two to get you in the mood. My little savages were delighted with Thundercloud.

We decided on some hill-walking. We were rewarded with a perfect picnic spot on a grassy bank from where we could watch others coming up the path and take in the views. We could see Lake Windermere our tipi camp was below us and there in the middle was Thundercloud- the only thundercloud that we could see.


Reviewed by Andrew Eames, reporter for the Daily Express Newspaper - 2005





American Indian Children
Old paper bottom

Camping reviews for the Lake District


- Camping in a Tipi - Wigwam Camping in the Lake District - Group camping in the Lake District - Campsite in the Lake District - Camping in Windermere - UK Campsites - luxury glamping in lake district - English Camping Locations - Child friendly campsites - Wigwam holidays - tipi holidays UK - cumbria camping guide - Cumbria camping locations - Ambleside campsites - Sleep in a Wigwam - recommended campsites in Cumbria - reviews of campsites uk -

4 Winds Tripadvisor Review

4 Winds Tipis tripadvisor reviews
reports from customers, trip advice for camping, trip advisor.

Recommended campsites Cumbria

recommended campsites in the lake district
Best places to camp, with good quality facilities, award winning.

5 star camping in the lake district

five 5 star camping in Cumbria
Top 10 best campsites, star rated camping locations Cumbria.

campsite reviews and recommendations

reviews of campsites
UK campsite reviews, cheap camping, with good facilities.

Cumbria camping guide information

cumbria camping guide to the lake district
local pubs, cheapest campsite, best walking tracks, excellent facilities, close to shops

Glamping luxury camping

luxury camping called glamping in the lake district
Glamping in the lake district, beautiful setting with home comforts, heating and cooking facilities.

Campsite testimonials and reviews


- Holiday in the English Lake District - wales - scotland - england - camping articles - Camping at Bowness - Ireland - tipi lake district - quality sites -tipi camping - teepee holidays - wigwams lake district - go glamping in the lakes - 4 winds tipis reviews - Glamping - five 5 star camping resorts -